Using Laser 2 Output To Test For Possible Laser 1 Output Anomaly

2 min read·Updated Sep 2026
Applies toNova, Bolt, Legacy, Nova Plus, Odin, TitanTopicMaintenance

This procedure is how to use the Channel 2 output in place of the Channel 1 output on your Laser Machine. You need to be mindful of what he Channel 1 settings are and copy them over to Channel 2 (Especially if they differ from what is in this guide)

Step 1: Backup Machine Settings to Computer

Machine Settings in Lightburn (Must be connected to the machine). From Lightburn go to Edit > Machine Settings or Laser Tools>Machine Settings depending on which version of Lightburn you have installed:

Once the settings load, save them. If you are getting an error, remedy that and click the Read button to read from the controller.

Machine Settings in Lightburn

Step 2: Make Machine Settings Adjustment

Laser Settings Section

*In newer versions of Lightburn, you may be prompted to be able to see these settings, click 'ok' to the prompt.

(For ODIN, Bolt, and Nova Plus Series, the values for Laser Min and Max power will typically be 1 and 99 by default, NOVA series shown in picture below and is 7 and 70 by default)

Laser Settings section in Machine Settings

Vendor Settings Section

Only need to enable Water Protection if you have a Chiller.

Vendor Settings section in Machine Settings

Once you have changed all the items in the red boxes, at the bottom of the Machine Settings Window click the Write Button first and then the Read Button to re-read. Verify all settings were written. If not, change again and Re-Write and Re-Read.

Write and Read buttons in Machine Settings

Step 4: Adjust Lightburn Device Settings

Enable Tube #2 control in Lightburn by going to Edit > Device Settings: (Depending on the Lightburn version you have installed, the window will look different)

Device Settings in Lightburn enabling Tube 2

Click 'ok'

Example of the window in a newer version of Lightburn:

Lightburn Device Settings>Basic Settings V2.1.03

Step 5: Change Controller Output Channel Wiring

Power off the machine and move the green connector on the Ruida Controller from CN5 to CN6 and CN6 to CN5. Depending on the machine type, your wiring will be slightly different.

Ruida Controller CN5 and CN6 connector locations

Step 6: Adjust Your Lightburn Projects

Adjust all your layer settings to use Tube 2 instead of Tube 1 and resend your project:

Lightburn layer settings adjusted to use Tube 2

*Files on the machine are likely set up for Channel 1 tube and will not be able to be used. You will need to re-create and re-send to the machine.

Still stuck?

Fastest response times in the industry from our US-based support team.